What the Five Stages of Grief Can Teach Us About How We Grieve

Everyone grieves in their own way, even you.

If you’ve recently lost a loved one, you’ve probably noticed that your grief comes out in different ways. The Kubler Ross‘ five stages of grief can help you understand what you’re feeling during this mourning period and how you can cope.

Keep reading to learn what the 5 stages of grief can teach us about how we grieve.

What Are the Stages?

Losing a loved one is never easy and can take a toll on your mental health. Some people experience all the stages of grief, while others experience only a couple. They can be experienced in any order, including:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

The stages are widely referred to as DABDA and were created to help terminally ill patients cope with their fate. When people began to realize the patient’s friends and family were going through similar stages, its purpose expanded. Today, people may realize these stages can apply to relationships and other losses besides death.

What DABDA Teaches You About How You Grieve

How you grieve can teach you a lot about yourself. Some people believe that death brings out the worst in people, while others tend to feel more grateful for things in life. No matter how you grieve, you must allow yourself to feel it.

Mourning someone can make you feel heavy like you’re carrying the world on your shoulders. You may find yourself angry before becoming depressed. You may deny it happened until it finally catches up with you.

Being aware of what you’re experiencing can help you refrain from projecting your pain onto others. Don’t make yourself go through this alone. Grief therapy is available to help you learn healthy ways to deal with the loss.

Resources for Grief

If you or a loved is suffering from grief, there are options available to help you through this difficult period. You can find online resources to assist you with the stages of grief you’re experiencing. If you’re looking for something different, you can try one of the following ideas:

  • Art
  • Music
  • Exercise
  • Writing
  • Prayer
  • And more

There’s such a thing as healthy mourning. You can learn a new instrument, begin painting or write it out. Choose activities that you can enjoy for 20 minutes a day, a few days a week.

You Can Get Through This

Coping with grief can teach you a lot. You may have learned that you’re only suffering from one of the stages, or all of them randomly. It’s okay to grieve for as long as you need, but remember to continue with your life.

When a death occurs suddenly, you’re left feeling lost and confused. This is a period where you should spend more time focused on how to handle your grief so you can move forward with your life.

Check out this helpful article to learn about what to do when death occurs and how we can help you reduce any additional stress.